Friday Night Thoughts

This past week I’ve set some alone time to focus on what I want out of this life and marked a few dead lines. After hearing stories from others, I’m even more convinced that our time in this world is very limited, so we better spend the time we have creating the world we want it to be.

I’m almost 28, and I’m scared.

I wish my childhood friends were as accessible to me now as they were then. I wish I could just call them using a landline phone at any time of the day, brief them on my concerns, and hear them say, “I’ll be right over,” “I’ll meet you downstairs,” “I’ll meet you in the alley,” or “Let’s meet at Wendy’s.” I wish my childhood friends were still grocery shopping with me to keep me from getting bored while my mom shopped for food. I wish my childhood friends were around to help me carry the groceries back home. I wish they were around to just chill outside with me during the summer nights—or just chill outside with me during the cold winter.

I wish my childhood friends were physically accessible. Because of the way we could be there for each other then, I would appreciate their presence even more now … we knew how to enrich each others’  lives … without the distractions of technology.

Leave a Reply

